Skip to content

The 12 Yanks of Christmas

December 17, 2012
A 1920s Christmas card from the Babe (Sotheby's)

A 1920s Christmas card from the Babe (Sotheby’s)

Christmas is just 8 days away, so I thought it’d be fun to get into the spirit, Yankee style.  I give you “The 12 Yanks of Christmas.”

*     *     *     *     *

On the first day of Christmas my teammate sent to me, an ump throwing out a Billy.

On the second day of Christmas my teammate sent to me, 2 Jeter flips, and an ump throwing out a Billy.

On the third day of Christmas my teammate sent to me, 3 Sultan Swats, 2 Jeter flips, and an ump throwing out a Billy.

On the fourth day of Christmas my teammate sent to me, 4 Iron Horses, 3 Sultan Swats, 2 Jeter flips, and an ump throwing out a Billy.

On the fifth day of Christmas my teammate sent to me, 5 Joltin’ Joes, 4 Iron Horses, 3 Sultan Swats, 2 Jeter flips, and an ump throwing out a Billy.

On the sixth day of Christmas my teammate sent to me, 6 Joes a-coaching, 5 Joltin’ Joes, 4 Iron Horses, 3 Sultan Swats, 2 Jeter flips, and an ump throwing out a Billy.

On the seventh day of Christmas my teammate sent to me, 7 Mickeys speeding, 6 Joes a-coaching, 5 Joltin’ Joes, 4 Iron Horses, 3 Sultan Swats, 2 Jeter flips, and an ump throwing out a Billy.

On the eighth day of Christmas my teammate sent to me, 8 Yogis confusing, 7 Mickeys speeding, 6 Joes a-coaching, 5 Joltin’ Joes, 4 Iron Horses, 3 Sultan Swats, 2 Jeter flips, and an ump throwing out a Billy.

On the ninth day of Christmas my teammate sent to me, 9 Rogers blasting, 8 Yogis confusing, 7 Mickeys speeding, 6 Joes a-coaching, 5 Joltin’ Joes, 4 Iron Horses, 3 Sultan Swats, 2 Jeter flips, and an ump throwing out a Billy.

On the tenth day of Christmas my teammate sent to me, 10 Scooters leaping, 9 Rogers blasting, 8 Yogis confusing, 7 Mickeys speeding, 6 Joes a-coaching, 5 Joltin’ Joes, 4 Iron Horses, 3 Sultan Swats, 2 Jeter flips, and an ump throwing out a Billy.

On the eleventh day of Christmas my teammate sent to me, 11 Leftys pitching, 10 Scooters leaping, 9 Rogers blasting, 8 Yogis confusing, 7 Mickeys speeding, 6 Joes a-coaching, 5 Joltin’ Joes, 4 Iron Horses, 3 Sultan Swats, 2 Jeter flips, and an ump throwing out a Billy.

On the twelfth day of Christmas my teammate sent to me, 12 Wades a-walking, 11 Leftys pitching, 10 Scooters leaping, 9 Rogers blasting, 8 Yogis confusing, 7 Mickeys speeding, 6 Joes a-coaching, 5 Joltin’ Joes, 4 Iron Horses, 3 Sultan Swats, 2 Jeter flips, and an ump throwing out a Billy.

*     *     *     *     *

Key: 12-Wade Boggs (known for his keen eye at the plate), 11-Lefty Gomez (a Hall of Fame pitcher in the 1930s and early 40s), 10-Phil Rizzuto (nicknamed “Scooter” and known for his acrobatic double play turns), 9-Roger Maris (hit 61 home runs in 1961), 8-Yogi Berra (his enigmatic phrases are legendary), 7-Mickey Mantle (known for his blinding speed in centerfield), 6-Joe Torre (managed the Yankees to four championships between 1996 and 2000), 5-Joe DiMaggio (known as “Joltin’ Joe”), 4-Lou Gehrig (nicknamed the “Iron Horse”), 3-Babe Ruth (nicknamed the “Sultan of Swat”), 2-Derek Jeter (his famous “flip play” saved game 3 of the 2001 ALDS), 1-Billy Martin (known for his fiery temperament both as a player and a manager) 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

